Barbados and the Eastern Caribbean

About us


On October 21, 1974 the United Nations Development Programme and the Government of Barbados entered into an agreement (the Standard Basic Framework Agreement – SBBA) to “support and supplement the national efforts of developing countries at solving the most important problems of their economic development and to promote social progress and better standards of life.”

Subsequently, similar agreements were entered with Governments of the ten countries the UNDP Multi-Country Office for Barbados and the Eastern Caribbean serves: Anguilla; Antigua and Barbuda; Barbados; the British Virgin Islands; the Commonwealth of Dominica; Grenada; Montserrat; Saint Lucia; St. Christopher (St. Kitts) and Nevis and, St. Vincent and the Grenadines.

The agreements have established the framework within which UNDP serves and is the foundation on which programme documents such as the UN Multi-Country Sustainable Development Framework and the Sub-regional Country Programme Document are built. Our work in the region continues to evolve and now ranges from poverty and governance, to sustainable solutions, energy and prevention, recovery and resilience.