Page content

Focus area

Inclusive Development, Recovery and Peacebuilding

The United Nations Recovery and Peacebuilding Programme (UN RPP) is implemented by four United Nations agencies: the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP), the UN Entity for Gender Equality and the Empowerment of Women (UN Women), the United Nations Population Fund (UNFPA), and the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO).

The UN RPP has addressed priority needs in eastern Ukraine arising since the outbreak of the armed conflict in the spring of 2014. The programme is intended to strengthen community security and social cohesion, support the economic recovery of conflict-affected communities, and further the implementation of decentralisation and healthcare reforms in government-controlled areas of Donetsk and Luhansk oblasts.

The total budget for 2019-2022 is over US$80 million.

Thirteen international partners support the Programme: the European Union (EU), the European Investment Bank (EIB), the U.S. Embassy in Ukraine, and the governments of Canada, Denmark, Germany, Japan, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Sweden, Switzerland and the UK.

The United Nations Recovery and Peacebuilding Programme has three components:​​​​​​​

The United Nations Recovery and Peacebuilding Programme operates in six oblasts: Donetsk, Luhansk, Dnipropetrovsk, Zaporizhzhia and Kharkiv; while the Rule of Law project operates in Zhytomyr Oblast.


  • Donetsk, Luhansk and Zaporizhzhia Oblast Administrations
  • Ministry of Veterans Affairs of Ukraine
  • Ministry for Reintegration of Temporary Occupied Territories of Ukraine
  • Ministry of Communities and Territories Development of Ukraine
  • Local Communities
  • National Police of Ukraine
  • State Employment Service of Ukraine
  • Civil society organizations