Technical Committee on Cultural Heritage receives Europa Nostra Grand Prix Award for Dedicated Service to Heritage

October 1, 2021

Photo Credit: Europa Nostra

Venice, 23 September 2021 - The winners of the 2021 European Heritage Awards / Europa Nostra Awards, Europe’s top honour in the field of cultural heritage, were celebrated with a high-profile ceremony held at the headquarters of the Giorgio Cini Foundation in Venice. During the ceremony, the four Grand Prix laureates and the Public Choice Award winner, selected from among this year’s 24 winning achievements from 18 European countries, were announced. 

The Technical Committee on Cultural Heritage (TCCH) was chosen by the Board of Europa Nostra on recommendation by an independent jury of experts to receive one of the Grand Prix Awards in the category for “Dedicated Service to Heritage by Organisations & Individuals.”

The Grand Prix Award follows the Technical Committee on Cultural Heritage’s recognition earlier in the year by the European Commission and Europa Nostra as one of the winners of 2021 European Heritage Awards / Europa Nostra Awards for using cultural heritage as a powerful tool for reconciliation and peaceful cooperation.

Since 2012, 84 cultural heritage sites island-wide have been conserved, structurally supported, physically protected or restored by TCCH and UNDP, with funding from the EU. Approximately €19.9 million have been provided by the European Commission to implement the priorities of the Technical Committee on Cultural Heritage for the preservation of the island-wide cultural heritage in Cyprus. The European Union is the biggest supporter of the work of the Technical Committee on Cultural Heritage in Cyprus.