About the European Union

The European Union is a unique economic and political union between 28 European countries. Together, they have built a zone of stability, democracy and sustainable development whilst maintaining cultural diversity, tolerance and individual freedoms. The European Union is committed to sharing its achievements and values with countries and people beyond its borders.

The five main institutions of the European Union are the European Parliament, the European Council, the European Commission, the Court of Justice and the Court of Auditors.

The European Union is a major player in international cooperation and development aid. Together with its Member States, it is the world’s largest aid donor.