مشروع الاستجابة في مجال الأمن الغذائي والقدرة على الصمود في اليمن (FSRRP)

ملخص المشروع

أدى الصراع المتفاقم، الذي دخل عامه السابع الآن، إلى شل الاقتصاد اليمني وخلق أزمة إنسانية غير مسبوقة. يعاني أكثر من 24 مليون شخص (أو 83 في المائة من الإجمالي التقديري لعدد السكان) من انعدام الأمن الغذائي، بما في ذلك 16.2 مليون شخص في المرحلة الثالثة من التصنيف الدولي المرحلي المتكامل (IPC) والذين يحتاجون إلى مساعدة طارئة. يعود سبب انعدام الأمن الغذائي في اليمن إلى الإنتاج المحدود للغذاء و محدودية إمداداته وتوزيعه وتناقص القوة الشرائية للأسر. ما يقدر بنحو 4.3 مليون شخص فروا من ديارهم منذ بداية الصراع ولا يزال هناك 3.3 مليون نازح داخليا.

يعد الجوع وانعدام الأمن الغذائي وسوء التغذية من بين التحديات الأكثر إلحاحًا والأكثر اجهاداً والتي يواجهها اليمن الآن - كل ذلك على نطاق لا يتم التعامل معه بشكل متكامل من قبل السلطات الوطنية ومجتمعات التنمية الدولية والإنسانية. نتج ضعف الحصول على الغذاء عن مزيج من اعتماد الأسرة الكبير على واردات الغذاء، وارتفاع أسعار المواد الغذائية، وانخفاض دخل الأسرة بشكل كبير. تشير التقديرات إلى أن اليمن استورد قمحاً أقل بنسبة 8 في المائة شهرياً بين يناير ومايو 2020 مقارنة بنفس الفترة من عام 2019 بسبب قلة الأموال، وهي كمية غير كافية من القمح لتلبية متطلبات الاستهلاك لعام 2020.

استجابةً لهذه الأزمة المتفاقمة، دخل برنامج الأمم المتحدة الإنمائي في اليمن في شراكة مع المؤسسة الدولية للتنمية التابعة للبنك الدولي، والصندوق الاجتماعي للتنمية، ومشروع الأشغال العامة لتنفيذ مشروع الاستجابة للأمن الغذائي والصمود في اليمن. يهدف المشروع إلى تحسين الأمن الغذائي الأسري وبناء القدرة على الصمود من خلال: زيادة توافر الغذاء وإمكانية الوصول إليه، والحفاظ على رأس المال البشري، والانتعاش الاقتصادي.

سيساهم المشروع أيضاً بشكل مباشر في التكيف مع تغير المناخ وتخفيف انبعاثات غازات الاحتباس الحراري من خلال تعزيز تدخلات سبل العيش للسكان الذين يعانون من انعدام الأمن الغذائي من خلال تدابير بناء القدرة على الصمود. ستعمل ممارسات الري وحفظ المياه وإدارتها، القادرة على التكيف مع المناخ، على استعادة الأراضي المتدهورة (بما في ذلك المدرجات الجبلية) واستبدال البنية التحتية للمياه المتضررة بتقنيات إنتاجية ذكية مناخياً خاصة بالإنتاج الزراعي، مما يسمح للمشاركين في المشروع بكسب الدخل الذي يحتاجون إليه من خلال إصلاح تلك الأراضي وصيانتها عبر النقد مقابل العمل.

 

Kids with eggplant

تمكين المرأة

على الرغم من أن النساء يشكلن ما يقرب من 60 في المائة من العمالة في زراعة المحاصيل، و 90 في المائة في تربية الماشية، و 10 في المائة من إجمالي العمالة مدفوعة الأجر، فإنهن أيضا من أكثر الفئات المعرضة لمخاطر آثار الصراع، وانعدام الأمن الغذائي، وتغير المناخ، و تدهور الأوضاع، وجائحة كوفيد-19 المستجد. مع استمرار ارتفاع أسعار المواد الغذائية وندرة المياه، تُترك النساء، بصفتهن مقدمات الرعاية المنزلية الأساسيات لأطفالهن وآبائهن وأزواجهن، أمام خيارات قليلة لإطعام أفراد أسرهن بشكل كافٍ وآمن.

يهدف البرنامج إلى تزويد المرأة اليمنية بفرص عمل مؤقتة من خلال النقد مقابل العمل، مع استهداف 1,200 امرأة (من أصل 4,300). لن يساعدهم هذا فقط على توليد الدخل، ولكن من خلال تمكين المرأة اقتصادياً، يمكننا المساعدة في تحسين ظروف المعيشة الأسرية.

سيدعم المشاركون في برنامج النقد مقابل العمل إعادة تأهيل الزراعة المجتمعية مما سيحسن الوصول إلى المياه والري وتجديد الأراضي والطرق الريفية للمزارعين مما سيجعل الغذاء في المتناول وبأسعار معقولة.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك، ستدعم فرص التدريب وزيادة الوعي النساء والفتيات من خلال التركيز على تطوير مهارات جديدة ومعارف الصحة والنظافة، بما في ذلك التدابير الوقائية من كوفيد-19. سيكمل جميع موظفي النقد مقابل العمل أيضاً التدريب الإلزامي وزيادة الوعي بشأن الصحة والسلامة المهنية، والعنف القائم على النوع الاجتماعي والاستغلال والاعتداء الجنسيين، لضمان سلامة واحترام جميع العمال.

الأهداف 

يتمثل الهدف التنموي للبرنامج في تحسين توافر الغذاء وتحسين الأنظمة الغذائية والوصول إليها، على المدى القصير والمتوسط، للأسر المستهدفة في منطقة المشروع. سيتحقق الهدف من خلال المخرجات التالية:

  • المخرج 1: تعزيز فرص توليد الدخل للأسر الضعيفة المستهدفة
  • المُخرَج 2: إعادة تأهيل البنية التحتية المجتمعية للإنتاج الزراعي المحدود
  • المخرج 3: ضمان إدارة المشروع والمراقبة والتعلم

 

النتائج المتوقعة

  • تزويد 18,800 أسرة تعاني من انعدام الأمن الغذائي (26,500 مستفيد) بوصول فوري للغذاء.
  • تحسين وصول 15,700 مزارع إلى البنية التحتية للمياه وشبكات الري والأراضي المعاد تأهيلها وإعادة تأهيل الطرق الريفية.
  • إنشاء 17,400 متر مكعب من خزانات تجميع مياه الأمطار.
  • تحسين 1,685 هكتار من الأراضي الزراعية من خلال إعادة تأهيل قنوات الري وآلية الحماية.
  • سيتم تعبيد 52 كيلومترا من الطرق الريفية لتحسين وصول المزارعين إلى الأسواق.

Impact

START DATE

July 2021

END DATE

December 2023

STATUS

جاري التنفيذ

PROJECT OFFICE

Yemen

IMPLEMENTING PARTNER

United Nations Development Programme

DONORS

INTERNATIONAL DEVELOPMENT AGENCY

WORLD BANK (INT'L. BANK FOR RECONSTRUCTION & DEVELOPMENT)

TOTAL CONTRIBUTIONS

$2,562,351

DELIVERY IN PREVIOUS YEARS

2021$0

2022$487,868

Full Project information

Yemen Food Security Response and Resilience Project (FSRRP)

Summary

Violent conflict, now in its seventh year, has crippled Yemen’s economy and created an unprecedented humanitarian crisis. Over 24 million people (or 83 per cent of the total estimated population) are food insecure, including a staggering 16.2 million people in IPC Phase 3+ requiring emergency assistance. Food insecurity in Yemen is driven by constrained food production, supply and distribution and households’ diminishing purchasing power. An estimated 4.3 million people have fled their homes since the start of the conflict and 3.3 million remain internally displaced.

Hunger, food insecurity and malnutrition are among the most pressing and overwhelming challenges Yemen now faces - all at a scale that is not being fully met by national authorities and the international development and humanitarian communities. Low food access has resulted from a combination a high household dependence on food imports, high food prices and significantly reduced household income. It is estimated that Yemen imported 8 per cent less wheat per month between January and May 2020 than during the same period in 2019 due to limited funds, which is an insufficient amount of wheat to meet the 2020 consumption requirement.

In response to this deepening crisis, UNDP Yemen has partnered with the World Bank’s International Development Association, the Social Fund for Development and the Public Works Project to implement the Yemen Food Security Response and Resilience Project (FSRRP). FSRRP aims at improving household food security and building resilience by: increasing food availability and accessibility and preserving human capital and basic economic recovery.

The project will also directly contribute to climate change adaptation and mitigate greenhouse gas emissions through promoting livelihood interventions for food insecure populations through resilience-building measures. Climate-resilient irrigation and water conservation and management practices will restore degraded lands (including terracing) and replace affected water infrastructure with subsequent productive, climate-smart technology for agricultural production, allowing project participants to earn much needed income from their repair and maintenance through cash-for-work.

 

Kids with eggplant

Women’s Empowerment

Despite women comprising approximately 60 per cent of labour for crop farming, 90 per cent for livestock breeding and 10 per cent of overall wage labour, they are also one of the most at risk groups to the effects of conflict, food insecurity, climate change and the on-going COVID-19 pandemic. As food prices and water scarcity continue to increase, women – as the primary domestic carers for their children, parents and spouse – are left with few options to feed their families adequately and safely.

FSRRP aims to provide Yemeni women with temporary employment opportunities through cash-for-work, with a target of 1,200 women participants (from 4,300). This will not only help them to generate income, but by economically empowering women, we can help to improve household living conditions.

Cash-for-work participants will support the rehabilitation of community agricultural which will improve access to water, irrigation, and renewed land and rural roads for farmers; making food more accessible and affordable.

Additionally, training and awareness raising opportunities will support women and girls by focusing on the development of new skills and, health and hygiene knowledge, including COVID-19 preventive measures. All cash-for-work employees will also complete compulsory training and awareness raising on occupational health and safety, gender based violence and sexual exploitation and abuse, to ensure the safety and respect of all workers.

Objectives

The development objective of FSRRP is to improve the availability of and access to food and nutritious diets – both in the short and medium term – for targeted households in the project area. The objective will be achieved through the following outputs:

  • Output 1: Income opportunities for targeted vulnerable households enhanced
  • Output 2: Small-scale agricultural production community infrastructure rehabilitated
  • Output 3: Project management, monitoring and learning ensured

 

Expected results

  • 18,800 food-insecure households (26,500 individual beneficiaries of whom 6,614 are female) with immediate access to food.
  • 15,700 farmers (4,500 are female) with improved access to water infrastructure, irrigation networks, rehabilitated lands, and rehabilitated rural roads.
  • 17,400 cubic metres of rainwater harvesting reservoirs will be constructed.
  • 1,685 hectares of agricultural lands will be improved through rehabilitated irrigation channels and protection mechanism.
  • 52 kilometres of rural roads will be paved to improve access to markets for farmers.
  • 13,900 farmers with improved access to market through value chain of whom 3,000 are female  

Impact

START DATE

July 2021

END DATE

December 2023

STATUS

Ongoing

PROJECT OFFICE

Yemen

IMPLEMENTING PARTNER

United Nations Development Programme

DONORS

INTERNATIONAL DEVELOPMENT AGENCY

UNITED NATIONS DEVELOPMENT PRO

WORLD BANK (INT'L. BANK FOR RECONSTRUCTION & DEVELOPMENT)

TOTAL CONTRIBUTIONS

$3,324,010

DELIVERY IN PREVIOUS YEARS

2021$0

2022$1,602,981

Full Project information