

UNDP Timor-Leste

ELECTORAL PROJECT

Newsletter October 2017 | Issue 11: Special Edition

POLITICAL UPDATES



VII Constitutional Government

The President of the Republic signed a decree on 2nd October appointing members of the Seventh Constitutional Government. The Swearing-In ceremony took place on 3rd October. This decree is the revised complete list of members of the Government.

















The new list of the members of the Government as per the decree signed by the President on 2nd October is as follows:

Mari Alkatiri: Prime Minister.

Minister for Development and Institutional Reform,

Head of the Special Areas of Social Market Economy in Timor (Ambeno and Atauro and four "special areas of development of national territory") and infrastructure,

- Hermenegildo Augusto Cabral Pereira: Deputy Prime Minister for Demarcation of Boundaries
- José Maria dos Reis: Deputy Prime Minister for Governance Affairs
- José Ramos-Horta: Minister of State and Adviser to National Security
- Rui Araújo: Minister of State and Minister of Health
- Luís Maria Ribeiro Freitas Lobato: Vice-Minister of Health
- Estanislaus da Silva: Minister of State and Minister of Agriculture and Fisheries
- **Deolindo Silva:** Vice-Minister of Agriculture and Fisheries
- Mariano Sabino: Minister of State and Minister of Mineral Resources
- Adriano Nascimento: Minister of the Presidency of the Council of Ministers
- Fernando Hanjam: Minister of Education and Culture
- José António de Jesus das Neves: Vice-Minister of Education and Culture
- Valentine Ximenes: Minister of State Administration
- José Anuno: Vice-Minister of State Administration
- Aurélio Guterres: Minister of Foreign Affairs and Cooperation
- Adaljiza Magno: Vice-Minister of Foreign Affairs and Cooperation
- Rui Augusto Gomes: Minister of Planning and Finance
- Sebastíão Dias Ximenes: Vice-Minister of Justice
- António Da Conceição: Minister of Trade and Industry
- Jacinto Gusmão: Vice-Minister of Trade and Industry
- Inacio Freitas Moreira: Vice-Minister of Development for Transport and Communication
- Hernâni Coelho: Minister of Petroleum
- José Somotxo: Minister of Defence
- Mariano Renato Monteiro da Cruz: Vice-Minister of Development and Public Works
- Abrão Gabriel Santos Oliveira: Vice-Minister of Development for Housing, Planning and Environment
- Cipriano Esteves D. Ferreira: Secretary of State for Agriculture and Fisheries
- Matias Freitas Boavida: Secretary of State for the Council of Ministers and Social Communication
- Osório Florindo da Conceição Costa: Secretary of State for Sport and High Competiveness
- Nívio Liete Magalhães: Secretary of State for Youth and Labour
- André da Costa Belo (L4): Secretary of State for Veterans
- Laura Pina Lopes: Secretary of State for Gender Equality and Social Inclusion

Next Steps

VII Constitutional Government

As per article 108 Constitution of RDTL;

- After the appointment of the members, the government in the coming days will develop its Programme that includes proposing objectives and tasks, the action to be taken and the main political guidelines to be followed in the fields of government activity.
- Once the Programme of Government has been developed, the Government shall submit to the Council of Ministers for approval.
- Within a maximum of 30 days after appointment of the Government, Prime Minister shall submit the Programme of Government to the National Parliament for consideration.



Press Release

Government analyses Program

The Seventh Constitutional Government met this Tuesday, September 26, at the Lahane Noble Palace in Dili, to analyse Ministerial proposals for the Government Program, which shall be presented to the National Parliament in the first fortnight of October.

The Program, guided by the Strategic Development Plan and the coalition parties' commitments, will update and reinforce on-going measures and projects. It will also reflect the Government's intention to strengthen existing services, to provide more effectiveness and efficiency to the system.

The Prime Minister instructed the Government members to plan and design the policies and measures with special attention to the interconnection and strengthening of the Public Works and Major Infrastructure sectors; of Housing, Spatial Planning and Environment; and Youth and Labour.

A technical team, composed of members from all ministries, and coordinated by the Minister in the Presidency of the Council of Ministers, will ensure the articulation of all the projects and policies of the Program, and prepare an explanatory note of the Government's proposal, to facilitate the assessment by the Parliament members, as well as any suggestions that may be submitted.

The Government also decided to propose the renewal, for two more years, of the current leadership of the FALINTIL – Defence Forces of Timor-Leste.

Project Meets Newly Appointed Minister of State Administration

On 25th September, the management team of UNDP LEARN Project with Director General of Technical Secretariat for Electoral Administration (STAE) jointly briefed the newly appointed Minister of State Administration, H.E. Valetim Ximenes on the activities that the LEARN project and STAE has been conducting together as part of electoral assistance.

STAE as per the law is under the Ministry of State Administration and responsible for the administration and organization of elections in Timor-Leste. The Minister visit was also to observe their work and seek ideas from head of units and its staff of STAE before preparing a workplan.

From the management team of UNDP LEARN Project, Chief Technical Advisor, Andres Del Castillo and Senior Electoral Adviser, Giovanni D' Amato with Director General of STAE, Acilino Branco were present during the meeting with the Minister.





UNDP Leveraging Electoral Assistance for Regionalized Nation-Building (LEARN)

UN House, Caicoli Street, Dili, Timor-Leste | Phone: +670 3311220

PROJECT TEAM MEMBERS

Andrés del Castillo Chief Technical Adviser Admin and Finance Officer **Georgete Gomes** Senior Electoral Adviser Giovanni D'Amato **Teresinha Cardoso** Social Inclusion Officer Anna Lisa Picone Legal Advisor for CNE **Candida Moniz** Finance and Admin Assistant Yuichi Ishida **Tito Ximenes** Civic/ Voter Education Officer **Communication Analyst Hemant Pathak** Election Reporting/M&E Officer **Shinichiro Monjo** Visual Media Consultant Electoral Graphic Designer Cosme Boavida Driver/ Admininstration Clerk **Rochan Kadariya** Sangeun Yeo Youth Engagement Officer **Nuno Ram** Driver/ Communication Asst