Equator prize to bring Indigenous Peoples issues to forefront of Paris climate conference

Nov 24, 2015

Photo: UNDP


The Equator Prize 2015 Award Ceremony will honor 21 outstanding indigenous and local community groups from 19 countries (list below), each a community innovation in reducing poverty, protecting nature and strengthening resilience in the face of climate change. The high-profile event, known as the Academy Awards for sustainable development, will feature a celebrity “green” carpet, award presentations, videos on winning initiatives, music performances, government commitments and community statements.  

List of countries with winning initiatives:  Afghanistan, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Cambodia, China, Colombia, Democratic Republic of Congo, Ethiopia/Kenya (cross-border), Guyana, Honduras, Indonesia, Iran, Madagascar, Malaysia/Indonesia (cross-border), Papua New Guinea, Tanzania and Uganda.

What:         Equator Prize 2015 Award Ceremony
When:        Monday, 7 December 2015 - Green Carpet and Reception (6:30-7:30pm),
                   Award Ceremony and Music (7:30-10:00pm)
Where:      Theatre Mogador
                   25 Rue de Mogador, Paris, France

•    Alec Baldwin, Actor and Activist
•    Helen Clark, Administrator, UN Development Programme
•    Colin Firth, Actor
•    Livia Firth, Founder, Eco-Age Ltd.
•    Edward Norton, Actor and UN Messenger of Peace (video narration)
•    Mary Robinson, UN Special Envoy on Climate Change
•    Amadou & Mariam (music performance)

PLEASE NOTE – The event is by invitation only but will be webcast live.  Interviews with Equator Prize winners and select speakers are available on request (both in advance and at the event).  Summaries on Equator Prize winners are available here and www.equatorinitiative.org.


For press interest in attending the event, please contact:

Joseph Corcoran / +1.778.987.8189 / joseph.corcoran@undp.org
Susan Tonassi: stonassi@burness.com; +49 160 9327 9327, Skype: susanbtonassi

UNDP Around the world