UN Photo/Rick Bajornas

The 2017 United Nations Pledging Conference for Development Activities was held on 6 November 2017 at which the following officials were elected: President – H.E. Zohrab Mnatsakanyan (Permanent Representative of Armenia to the United Nations, and former UNDP Executive Board President); Vice Presidents – H.E. Jürgen Schulz (Deputy Permanent Representative of Germany to the United Nations, from the Western European and Others Group (WEOG)) and Ms. Hessa Al Ateibi (Third Secretary of the Permanent Mission of the United Arab Emirates to the United Nations, from the Asia-Pacific States).

The United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) is grateful for the specific pledges made by Norway, India, Luxembourg, Russian Federation, Thailand, Kuwait, Bangladesh, United Arab Emirates, Singapore, Estonia, Indonesia, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Mongolia, Myanmar and Albania to regular resources totaling $77 million. UNDP appreciates the statements of support by Denmark, China, and Andorra, and the pledge to local office costs by the Democratic People's Republic of Korea.  While the total pledge made in 2017 represents a decrease of 31 percent compared to 2016, the majority of actual contributions to the UN Funds and Programmes are made outside of the Pledging Conference framework.  UNDP looks forward to working closely with the Member States and the President and Vice-Presidents to ensure that agency funding targets are achieved in 2018.

The UN Press Release provides further information and details on the pledging conference outcome and agency statements.

UNDP Around the world