Previous honourees. From left to right: 2017 Durreen Shahnaz, Impact Investment Exchange (IIX); 2016 Jennifer Nkuene Riria, Kenya Women Holding; 2017 Harley Seyedin, Allelon Energy Partners; 2016 Sarah Beydoun, Sarah's Bag; 2017 Murad Al-Katib, AGT Food and Ingredients Inc.


Oslo – The United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) and the Business for Peace Foundation seek nominations for next year’s Business for Peace Awards. Every May, at the Oslo City Hall, outstanding business leaders who have achieved commercial success, using sustainable and ethically responsible business practices are given the prestigious award. The nomination process has already started, and is open until 21 November.

The inaugural Awards were presented in 2009 in Oslo, Norway – the home of the Nobel Peace Prize, with honourees chosen by an Award Committee consisting of past Nobel Prize winners in Peace, and in Economic Sciences. The award is a global honour, aiming to identify business leaders and entrepreneurs that have achieved outstanding accomplishments by acting ethically and responsibly in business, and by creating shared value between business and society.

UNDP and the Business for Peace Foundation share a common role in promoting sustainable business models and corporate social responsibility. Recognizing such accomplishments promotes further ethical business practices, and emphasizes the private sector’s fundamental role in achieving the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). UNDP sees a clear business case for the private sector to invest in SDG implementation.

Honourees are selected by an independent committee, after a global bottom-up nomination process through the Foundation’s global partners: UNDP, the International Chamber of Commerce, and the United Nations Global Compact. The independent jury that will choose the honourees includes Nobel laureates Shirin Ebaldi, lawyer and human rights activist; Leymah Gbowee, a peace activist who helped bring an end to the 2003 Second Liberian Civil War; and Eric Maskin, Adams University Professor at Harvard University.

UNDP encourages nominations of qualified business leaders who 1) act as role models for society and their peers; 2) stand out as advocates for responsible and ethical business conduct, and; 3) have earned the trust of their stakeholders.

Previous winners include Elon Musk (Tesla and SolarCity), Paul Polman (Unilever) and Sarah Beydoun (Sarah’s Bag).

We invite you to nominate a candidate for the 2018 Oslo Business for Peace Award.  The deadline for nominations is 21 November 2017 and the winners will be presented in Oslo City Hall on 16 May 2018.  To read more about the Award and Criteria, visit Business for Peace's website.

Business for Peace is a global foundation based in Oslo, Norway, committed to redefining the concept of success in business by promoting an evolved form of capitalism. More information about the Business for Peace Foundation can be found at

Icon of SDG 17

UNDP Around the world