UN observes the first anniversary of Nigeria bomb attack

Aug 27, 2012

Bombing survivor John Agbo (right) helps UN Staff Representative Uzorma Ihedirimadu-Abudu to lay a wreath in memory of the victims of the UN House Terror Attack in Abuja, Nigeria. (Photo: Abayomi Adeshida)

Country Office commends the resilient spirit of officials and staff

Abuja, Nigeria - The United Nations Agencies and Organizations in Nigeria remember, with fond memories and prayers, all the 23 persons (13 UN staff and 10 non-UN staff) who lost their lives as a result of the unfortunate bombing of the UN House in Abuja on Friday, August 26, 2011. We also reiterate our expression of solidarity and support to all the more than 120 persons who sustained various degrees of injuries from the bomb attack. We convey the continous support and appreciation of the UN Secretary-General and all the Executive Heads of various Agencies and Organizations.

On the occasion of this solemn one year anniversary, the United Nations Team in Nigeria (composed of agencies and organizations) once again presents its deepest condolences to the families of victims, reiterated our gratitude to the Government and people of Nigeria from all walks of life, irrespective of their religion, philosophical or political beliefs, for their active support, solidarity and commitment to the mission of the UN throughout this difficult period. The UN Country Team also expresses gratitude to several federal institutions and state governments which have made available temporary offices for various UN agencies during this period of the forced displacement of UN staff and officials.

"Although the devastating attack took the lives of our colleagues and partners and maimed many people, all of whom were in the building in the pursuit of service to humanity, our spirits have not been dampened", said the UN Resident Coordinator in Nigeria, Mr. Daouda Toure. "Their death mobilizes us more than ever before. Their sacrifice will not be in vain. We will strive to pursue our work for the people of Nigeria for the continuance of peace and stability of this great nation, and the socio-economic development of all. The UN identifies with the people of all its Member States, which justifies the expression ‘we, the people,’ as prescribed in the UN Charter. The families of our fallen colleagues should be proud of the altruism of their loved ones.”

The UN Resident Coordinator saluted the resilience and courage of UN staff and officials who have continued undaunted with their development and humanitarian work of helping the people of Nigeria regardless of the constraints. From our temporary office locations, the UN agencies and organizations are pursuing their mission and mandate for Nigerians. As an illustration, barely 24 hours after the bomb attack, the UN operation was back on stream and helping the flooding victims in some states – a reaffirmation of the UN’s commitment and promise to the great member state, Nigeria.

He reaffirmed that the United Nations System in Nigeria will continue on its mission to assist in improving the lives of poor people, to conquer hunger, disease and illiteracy, and to encourage respect for each other’s rights and freedoms. Nigeria is important not only for its people but for Africa and humanity as a whole. The contribution to peace and stability in the world of this great nation is well recognized in the UN and in peacekeeping operations around the world.

The list of the Departed UN staff and Non-UN Staff, who we remember today and always, are:

United Nations Staff
1. Ms. Rahmat Abdullahi (UNDP)
2. Mr. Musa Ali (WHO)
3. Mr. Johnson Awotunde (UNICEF)
4. Dr. Edward Dede (WHO)
5. Mr. Elisha Enaburekhan( UNAIDS)
6. Mr. Ahmed Abiodun Adewale-Kareem (UNICEF)
7. Mr. Iliya David Musa ( UNDP)
8. Ms. Ingrid Midtgaard (UNODC)
9. Mrs. Felicia Nkwuokwu ( UNDP)
10. Mr. Stephen Obamoh (UNDP)
11. Mr. Abraham A. Osunsaya ( WHO)
12. Mr. Fred Willis( UNICEF)
13. Mr. Sunday Nwachukwu( UNDP)

Non-United Nations Staff
1. Mr. Sunday James Ebere: Shipping Agent, Balast Agency
2. Mr. Ndubisi Bright: Hospitality Industry Consults
3. Mr. Paul Waziri: Nigeria Cleaning Services
4. Ms. Kate Demehin: Federal Ministry of Health
5. Ms. Caroline Michael: Kings Guard
6. Mr. Sunday Omelenyi: Kings Guard
7. Mr. Yakubu Garuba: Kings Guard
8. Mr. Abiodun Cyril Adeseye: Julius Berger
9. Ms. Patricia Ekweringe: Travel Agent
10. Ms. Joy Audu: Nigeria Cleaning Services

UNDP Around the world