United Nations Country Team in Mongolia

The UN Country Team (UNCT) encompasses all the entities of the UN system that carry out operational activities for development, emergency, recovery and transition in Mongolia. The UNCT in Mongolia comprises of 11 agencies out of which 5 agencies have full in-country representation including FAO, UNDP, UNFPA, UNICEF and WHO while other agencies including ILO, IOM, UNESCO, UNHCR, UN-HABITAT and UNIDO are present through their projects overseen by their regional and sub-regional offices. The UNCT ensures inter-agency coordination and decision-making at the country level. The main purpose of the Country Team is for individual agencies to plan and work together, as part of the Resident Coordinator's system, to ensure the delivery of tangible results in support of the development agenda of the Government.

The UNCT is represented by the UN Resident Coordinator who is the designated representative of the UN Secretary-General in Mongolia. The Resident Coordinator (RC) plays a central role in leading the UNCT and coordinating operational activities of the UN System. RC  also ensures alignment of UN assistance with national development priorities.

The United Nations Country Team (UNCT) exists in 136 countries, covering all of the 180 countries where United Nations programmes exist.