Working arrangements for the Global Partnership

Aug 21, 2012



The mandate for the 'Global Partnership for Effective Development Cooperation', as well as light global arrangements to support the monitoring of the Busan commitments were agreed at the final meeting of the OECD DAC Working Party on Aid Effectiveness on 28 and 29 June 2012.

Following the meeting, consultations among stakeholders confirmed the appointment of three ministerial Co-Chairs for the Global Partnership, as well as the members of its Steering Committee. The process of designing a post-Busan global framework attracted significant interest from the range of countries and organisations that endorsed the Busan Partnership declaration.

Ms Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala, Minister of Finance, Nigeria; Ms Armida Alisjahbana, Minister of State for National Development Planning, Indonesia and Mr Andrew Mitchell, Secretary of State for International Development, United Kingdom, have been confirmed as Co-Chairs of the Global Partnership for Effective Development Co-operation.


The membership of a senior-level Steering Committee was also announced (a full list of names is provided below). The inaugural meeting of the Steering Committee is scheduled to take place in autumn 2012.


Confirmed Co-Chairs and Steering Committee Members




  • Ms. Armida Alisjahbana, Minister of State for National Development Planning, INDONESIA.
  • Mr Andrew Mitchell, Secretary of State for International Development, UNITED KINGDOM.
  • Ms. Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala, Minister of Finance, NIGERIA.

Steering Committee members:


Representatives of recipients of development co-operation (5)

Mr. Brahim Adoum Bachar, Secretary General, Ministry of Economy and Planning, CHAD.
Mr. Luis Fernando Carrera Castro, Secretary for Planning and Programming, Presidency,
Mr. Iqbal Mahmood, Senior Secretary, Ministry of Finance, BANGLADESH.
Ms. Noumea Simi, Assistant Chief Executive Officer, Ministry of Finance, SAMOA.
Mr. Helder da Costa, Director of the International Secretariat of the g7+, Ministry of Finance, TIMOR-LESTE*.
(* representing the g7+ group of fragile and conflict-affected states)

Representative of recipients and providers of development co-operation (1)
Mr. Luis Olivera, Executive Director, Peruvian Agency for International Cooperation (APCI), PERU.

Representatives of providers of development co-operation (3)

Mr. Gustavo Martin Prada, Director, EUROPEAN COMMISSION.
Ms. Enna Park, Director General for Development Cooperation, Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade, KOREA.
Mr. Donald Steinberg, Deputy Administrator, US Agency for International Development, UNITED STATES.


Representative of private sector stakeholders (1)
(to be confirmed)

Representative of parliamentarians (1)
Mr. Martin Chungong, Director, Division of Programmes, INTER-PARLIAMENTARY UNION.
Representative of civil society stakeholders (1)
Ms. Mayra Moro-Coco, BETTERAID.

Representative of multilateral development banks (1)
Ms. Sophie Sirtaine, Director, Corporate Reform and Strategy, Operations, Policy and Country Services, WORLD BANK.

Representative of the UNDP/UNDG (1)
Ms. Sigrid Kaag, Assistant Secretary General and Assistant Administrator, Bureau for External Relations and Advocacy, UNDP.

Representative of the OECD/DAC (1)
Mr. Brian Atwood, Chair, Development Assistance Committee, OECD.

A Joint OECD / UNDP secretariat will support the effective functioning of the Global Partnership. The focal points listed below are at hand to provide information and respond to any queries:




Ms. Brenda Killen, Head of Division,
Aid Quality and Architecture, DCD
 +33 1 45 24 83 72 / 

Ms. Marjolaine Nicod, Senior Policy Advisor
 +33 1 45 24 87 67 /


Mr. Robin Ogilvy, Policy Analyst
+33 1 45 24 94 48 /




Mr. Nils Boesen, Director,
Knowledge, Innovation and Capacity Group, BDP
+1 212 906 6291 / 


Mr. Paolo Galli, Cluster Leader,
Multilateral Affairs and UN Coherence Cluster, BERA

Ms. Bettina Woll, Policy Specialist
 +1 212 906 3609 / 


Mr. Derek Kilner, UN Inter-Governmental Affairs Officer
+1 212 906 5742/